After completing my first ever knitting project in October and saw that finished objects were an achievable task for me (executive dysfunction be damned!) I immediately began plotting what gifts I would knit for Christmas.

I decided it would be nice to make something for Abe’s mom, something simple and pretty. When I was new to Ravelry and browsing the thousands of free available patterns, I remember being taken with Purl Soho’s Jasmine Scarf. It was the first pattern I had added to my queue; it looked soft, lovely, feminine, and I remember looking forward to finding an excuse to knit this beautiful pattern. So it didn’t take long to decide what I would knit for her.

The original pattern called for five repeats of the caliper pattern, but that would have required at least 5+ skeins, which I didn’t have the money for at the time. So I went with three repeats only and it still yielded substantial breadth.

I’m incredibly pleased with the outcome. Blocking took no time at all. I finished weaving in the ends at about 10pm at night, wet blocked it, and by 9am the next morning it was 95% dry with only a few small damp patches. It did shrink a little, an inch or two by my untrained eye (oops should have taken final measurements, rookie mistake). If I were to knit this pattern again and had more money, I would buy an additional skein or two to achieve my preferred scarf length.

Project info

My Ravelry project page
Pattern: Jasmine Scarf by Purl Soho
Size: approx. 10″ x 60″
Needles: 4.0 mm
Yarn: Garnstudio DROPS Air — 001 Off White
Yarn used: 450 metres = 3 skeins
Started: November 3, 2020
Completed: December 23, 2020


Garnstudio DROPS Air in 001 Off White. Knitting with this yarn is a smooth process all around, like knitting butter. No strain at all on my hands. Light and airy, just as it is advertised.


2020/11/06 - Casting on


2020/12/27 — Couldn’t find good lighting anywhere at Abe’s place. Also I was lazy, so as you can see I didn’t really put any effort into styling this photo lol But I hope you can ignore everything around it and see how pretty this scarf is. So pretty!!!

Last updated: 2020-12-28 @ 12:40 PM PST